Launching Today: 2016 Digital Publishing Awards

The National Magazine Awards Foundation (NMAF) is pleased to announce the Call for Entries for the inaugural Digital Publishing Awards, a bilingual national program recognizing excellence in Canadian digital content and creation.

Beginning Thursday, January 7, submissions for work published in 2015 will be accepted until February 16, 2016. The Early-Bird deadline for submissions is February 8.

Visit for details on rules, categories, deadlines and fees.

This new awards program will provide a platform to promote and reward the achievements of those who create digital publishing content in Canada—the writers and editors, designers and developers, video and podcast producers, photographers and illustrators, and others.

Digital publishers with established brands in magazine, newspaper, broadcast and other journalism, as well as publishers that serve their audiences exclusively on digital platforms will be eligible to enter, including those that publish in either English or French.

For the inaugural year, creators and publishers will have the opportunity to have their work recognized at the national level in fourteen awards categories :

  1. Best Digital Editorial Package
  2. Best Blog or Online-Only Column
  3. Best News Coverage of a Single Topic or Event
  4. Best Online-Only Short Feature
  5. Best Online-Only Long Feature
  6. Best Online Video
  7. Best Multimedia Storytelling in a Single Feature
  8. Best Use of Data
  9. Best Podcast Series
  10. Best Visual Storytelling
  11. Best Digital Design
  12. Best Use of Multiple Platforms
  13. Best Digital Initiative
  14. Digital Publication of the Year.

Finalists will be announced on May 4, 2016 and winners unveiled at the inaugural awards soirée, which will take place on June 9, 2016 in Toronto. Enter today!

About the DPAs
The Digital Publishing Awards are produced by the National Magazine Awards Foundation, a not-for-profit, registered charity that has administered Canada’s annual National Magazine Awards since 1977. With a reputation for facilitating a rigorous, fair and transparent awards program in which content creators are recognized and rewarded for outstanding achievement in magazine journalism, the NMAF is proud to present the Digital Publishing Awards in consultation with Canada’s leading producers and creators of digital publishing.

Follow the Digital Publishing Awards on Twitter @DPAwards.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s