Elle Québec, SkyNews, Canadian Business among winners at Canadian Cover Awards

[This post has been updated] Last night at the Courtyard Hotel in downtown Toronto the redesigned Canadian Cover Awards were presented to an audience of Canadian magazine industry professionals. Produced by CMC and Magazines Canada, and sponsored by the Alliance for Audited Media, the reception showcased awards for the most successful Canadian magazine cover in 7 categories:

Three finalists were named in each category. UPDATE: Magazines Canada press release on the winners.

Additionally, SkyNews publisher and veteran industry leader Greg Keilty was named Newsstand Marketer of the Year.

Cottage Life magazine’s circulation coordinator Amanda Beattie hosted the event. The awards competition was open to all Canadian magazine issues distributed on Canadian newsstands in 2011 and 2012 that are now sales final.

Twitter reax and more.

Related post: New Canadian Cover Awards now accepting submissions

Alberta Magazine Awards finalists announced

The finalists for the 2013 Alberta Magazine Awards have been announced by the Alberta Magazine Publishers Association, with awards to be presented in 14 Showcase categories on March 14.

Swerve–the “Calgary inside & out” magazine–leads all publications with 17 nominations.

Also receiving an impressive haul of nominations are Alberta Venture (11), Alberta Oil (10), Eighteen Bridges (10), Alberta Views (6) and Avenue Calgary (6).

Alberta Venture editor Mike Ganley has been named the Editor of the Year, while Elaine Kupser of IMPACT Magazine is the recipient of the award for Achievement in Publishing.

The Amber Webb-Bowerman Memorial Foundation Award for Emerging Writer has 4 finalists:

Check out all the nominees. Tickets for the Alberta Magazine Awards gala are on sale until March 7. More info at albertamagazines.com.

Related post: January 10 deadline approaches for Alberta Magazine Awards

Western Magazine Awards open for submissions till March 15

[This post has been updated] The Western Magazine Awards — a program open to Canadian print and online magazines published west of the Ontario-Manitoba border — are now accepting submissions for their 31st annual awards. Deadline for entries is March 1, 2013 March 15, 2013.

This year there are 12 written categories (including the new Best New Writer Award) and 6 visual categories, which include a cash prize of $750.

Then there are 4 “Gold” categories for best overall article by region, which include a cash prize of $1000. Finally, there are 8 Magazine of the Year categories and 1 Lifetime Achievement Award.

There have been a few changes made to the Rules this year, so be sure to read carefully before submitting.

The winners will be announced at the annual WMA ceremony on June 21, 2013, at the Renaissance Vancouver Hotel Harbourside. More info at westernmagazineawards.ca.

Maisonneuve Writing Contest seeks Fables & Parables

[This post has been updated]  Maisonneuve magazine — Canada’s Magazine of the Year — is presenting its second-annual genre fiction writing contest. This year’s theme is Fables & Parables.

The winner will receive a $300 prize and publication in the award-winning magazine; two runners up will receive $100 each and publication online.

From the contest creators:

Send us your finest original interpretations of these ancient storytelling traditions! Moral lessons, animals, mythical creatures—you know the deal. You could be the next Aesop!

The entry fee is $25 and includes a subscription to the quarterly magazine of arts, opinion and ideas. Word limit: 1200 words. Deadline March 31, 2013 April 8, 2013.

More info at maisonneuve.org.

Related posts:
Your Guide to Winter/Spring 2013 Magazine Writing Contests
Get familiar with Maisonneuve: Canada’s Magazine of the Year
Maisonneuve Redesign

Final deadline for Kenneth R. Wilson Awards is February 15

The 59th annual Kenneth R. Wilson Awards for Canadian B2B magazine publishing are accepting submissions until Friday, February 15.

Submitters may enter online at krwawards.ca and all required hard copies are due by 5pm on Friday.

There are 25 categories (13 written, 4 visual, 3 digital and 5 special).

Among the new categories this year is the inaugural Kenneth R. Wilson Award for Best New Journalist, which celebrates the achievements of a writer whose early work in B2B magazine journalism shows the highest degree of craft and promise.

Submissions must consist of a feature-length, non-fiction article (1000 words or greater) published in a Canadian business-to-business publication in 2012, along with a letter of reference from an editor, teacher, mentor or colleague.

Editors are encouraged to submit on behalf of their writers.

For more information, visit krwawards.ca.

CSME accepting submissions for Editors’ Choice Awards

The annual Editors’ Choice Awards presented by the Canadian Society of Magazine Editors (CSME) are now open for submissions.

The award for CSME Magazine of the Year is divided by circulation and type:

  • Small magazines (under 50,000)
  • Medium magazines (50,000 to 149,999)
  • Large magazines (150,000+)
  • Trade magazines
  • Custom publications

There are also awards for:

  • Best Front of Book
  • Jim Cormier Award for Display Writing
  • Best Website
  • Best Editorial Blog
  • Editor of the Year

The deadline for submission is March 8, 2013. Submissions are free for CSME members. Winners will be announced at the Editors’ Gala during MagNet–Canada’s Magazine Conference–on June 5, 2013. More info at the CSME website.