NMA Winners among Charles Taylor Prize finalists

The shortlist for the 11th annual Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction was announced yesterday, and of the five great authors in the running for the honour (and the $25,000 cash prize) several are National Magazine Award laureates.

Andrew Westoll, a 2007 winner in the Travel category for a feature article in explore, is nominated for his new book, The Chimps of Fauna Sanctuary.

Charlotte Gill, shortlisted for her tree-planting memoir Eating Dirt, received an Honourable Mention at the 2007 National Magazine Awards for her writing in Vancouver Review.

Both Gill and Westoll are also in the running for the B.C. National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction.

The full list and details of this year’s Charles Taylor finalists can be found here. The winner will be announced March 5.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s